28
Sep
08

2008 March: SENTUL TRACK DAY

SENTUL TRACK DAY
2008-03-07 and 2008-03-09

Friday (March 07, 2008) is a public holiday. Being a long weekend, some Ducati Riders who were still in town, warmed up their bikes and did some practice rounds in Sentul International Circuit, around 45 Km from Jakarta. Besides the real racer from R15 Team that day, at least I could see 8 Ducati bikes including 3 units of new Ducati Superbike1098 (Setiawan on 1098s, Ochi on 1098 and myself on 1098s). The other 5 Other Ducatista were Eko on Ducati Superbike 996, Steven on Ducati Superbike 748, Milan on Monster 400, Saiful on Monster 400, Satar on Multistrada 1000DS. Other brands of bikes were also present that day. A group of Cagiva and Aprilia bikes as well as some smaller capacity bike like the 150 cc CBR were also present and gathered here to perform endurance and safety testing in one of Asia challenging motor racing track.

I did not set any kind of target for today ride, except to ride and enjoy my 1098s more on motor racing track especially on the turns or corners.

This is the report.

Bro Milan gets prepared and his Monster 400 is ready:

Satar’s Multistrada 1000DS is also ready:

Ochi came with a Nissan Serena and unload his 1098 from that car:

Setiawan, was on a warm up. Just take an easy and safe ride several rounds on track; he was enjoying the ride on his 1098s:

Ochi also have some relax warm up ride and enjoying corner to corner on his new 1098:

I was still trying to adjust myself and the bike. It seems to me a little suspension adjustment still need to be done because I could feel some bumpy period for a while just after the corner.

While Eko, seems comfortable and was looked very cool on Ducati 996. See him knee down in some corners:

Eko manage to ride several laps…



But then, he felt down at the ”Small S” just after overtook me on R4. It seems to me that he did not entering the first corner on that Small S too fast, but he lose the grip on his front tire. Hm.. I can’t imagine if that happen on a speed corner. Likely Eko does not fatally hurt, although one of his fingers needs to be taken care of by the doctor in the hospital. He could ride his bike again 2 days later.

This is a good lesson. Do not tolerate with any safety parts and gears!! At least we have to always make sure that the tires, breaking system and safety gears are all in a good shape before we ride.

On Sunday (March 9, 2008), Ahmad Jayadi, the Indonesian National Supersport Champion, get a chance trying and enjoying the 1098s and commented “ Wow… this is very nice bike, very slim and easy to ride. It also has more than enough power.” I showed him only ride safely and did not open the throttle widely. Hm.. I was wondering how if he ride on a real race?

I also manage to ride and practice with Didi (Black R6). But, yes, skill does not lie. At some steep corners I still feel difficult to closely follow him:

After a while, Ochi seems get a better feeling and more comfortable with his 1098:



I am in action on my 1098s:



Take a break on the mid day. It is quite exhausted ride for an amateur rider like me. I start feel more comfortable but still need to have several more practice to get better on the corners.

Come back home just after mid day, my wife and 3 children have been waiting for me for a walk at Pondok Indah Mall, not too far from my house, until late afternoon…

What a great week end…

The End.


8 Responses to “2008 March: SENTUL TRACK DAY”


  1. 1 Ryan
    September 28, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    i saw one red multistrada at the top of the post, but in this story there’s no strada ride on the track?
    i’m sorry if my english is not good..
    still learning bro…hehee..

  2. September 28, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Hi Ryan..
    You are right… Satar rode a Multistrada 1000DS on that day, but I’m not sure whether we manage to get his pic on the event…

    Btw don’t worry about grammer. There is no strick rules here as far as people understand it. You could freely use English or Bahasa Indonesia on your comments, whichever more convenience for you Bro…🙂

  3. 3 stoner27
    September 29, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    That monster 400 is really nice, I reckon those are quite rare here?
    Please let me know if there’s one up for sale.. hehe

    The new 696 pricing is well above my league.. (it’s around 300 right?)

    a classic entry level m400 will do just fine for me.. hehe..

    and it can fit into an avanza? I believe Milan is standing next to one?
    I have an avanza in my driveway, so all I need is the monster now…
    so I can join you guys..hehe

    btw I don’t think I can drop by to the store these days.. You know with the maid and babysitter mudik.. With four kids the house is like a warzone! hehe…

    or maybe I just dropped them at kidzania and walk by there.. hmmm?

  4. September 30, 2008 at 8:16 am

    Kapan kapan saya boleh ikut ke sentul kan kang:

    mau ngucapin ini:

    Saya sering sekali berkata kata yang tidak semuanya indah, kadang saya salah, mungkin riya, mungkin sedikit dusta … dan saya mohon untuk dimaafkan segala kesalahan saya yah🙂

    Minal aidin wal faidzin … maafkan saya lahir dan batin karena beginilah kewajiban kita sebagai hamba untuk meminta maaf dan memberi maaf.

    Rindu [a.k.a -Ade-]

  5. October 1, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    @Rindu
    Hi De, Thanks for the visit.

    Kalo suatu waktu ingin liat ke Sentul silahkan aja. Kalo pas pertandingan lebih rame.

    Sama2, Met Idul Fitri 1429H. Mohon maaf lahir batin ya..

    Btw, I like your Blog. Please come and visit my other Blog Hanya Kata-kata. It will tolally different with this one.
    Salam,

  6. October 2, 2008 at 6:30 am

    nice track day mas Nug . . .
    FYI Ninja 250R Community rencana kedepan mo nyobain track day disonoh juga tuh . . .
    + minta advicenya niy mas bro nug …
    Kalo Battlax BT 45 nggak recomend yah buat aspal sirkuit …bila ya, kira2 kenapa yah
    trus minimal apa..BT 39??

  7. October 2, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    Bro Taufik,

    Duh.. sorry banget, aku gak begitu hapal nih dengan jenis2 Ban dan spec nya (khususnya BT 45 atau 39) jadi takut kalo comment malah ntar menyesatkan.

    Beberapa Ducati menggunakan Batlax BT 014. Ini jenis yang gak terlalu buat sirkuit juga sih tapi lumayan sih kalo cuma buat amatiran dan setelah itu kan kita lebih banyak pakai motornya di jalan raya lagi.

  8. October 2, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    @Stoner 27
    Yup. You are right jumlahnya gak banyak. Mending kalo tertarik naik ke Moneter 600 atau 620 sepertinya ada tuh yg akan atau telah masuk bursa second.:)


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 268,597 hits
September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

